The ARBS Industry Awards celebrate a decade of excellence in 2020.

The awards officially launched in 2010 in Melbourne.

Tech architect, Nirosha Munasinghe, was the inaugural winner of the Young Achiever Award in 2010 after he was involved in developing open system control products for the HVAC market.

He also launched an Australian-owned controls company, Open General, which developed BACnet based fully programmable direct digital controllers, networking devices and powerful web-based user interface which were installed in buildings throughout Australia.

Reflecting on his win from almost a decade ago Nirosha described it as unforgettable.

“Winning this award was a great honour to me at that time and really catapulted my career. It was not expected, we were a very small company back then – a small start-up in Melbourne,” he said.

“It gave a presence to our company, and we were able to establish a distribution network around Australia.”

In the last five years, Nirosha has been rolling out smart meters in a project and operational capacity.

“I am also collaborating in an advisory role with a start-up currently in stealth mode and we hope to release a product within the energy sector in the next coming year,” Munasinghe said.

“There is no doubt the HVAC industry is really innovative and growing.”

The extraordinary talent from within the industry will be honoured at the ARBS 2020 Industry Awards which will be held during the ARBS 2020 exhibition, from May 19-21, 2020 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

ARBS exhibition manager, Sue Falcke, said award recipients join a small but influential group of industry high-achievers.

“There is still time to nominate for this landmark edition of the ARBS Industry Awards which culminates in a fantastic celebration at the gala dinner,” she said.

Nominations for the ARBS 2020 Industry Awards will officially close on November 15, 2019. The awards recognise excellence in Australia’s HVAC, refrigeration and building services industries across a range of areas including:

Young Achiever Award 
Product Excellence Award 
Software/Digital Excellence Award 
Project Excellence Award 
Outstanding Service & Maintenance Award 
Outstanding Industry Education/Training Award 


comments powered by Disqus