A capacity crowd attended CCN's breakfast event and innovation forum in Sydney earlier today, with the winners of the 2015 HVACR Leadership Awards formally announced.

The event began with presentations on the $6 billion Barangaroo project and was followed by CCN Editor, Sandra Van Dijk, announcing the winners of CCN's inaugral awards program

"Today we celebrate innovation and industry excellence," Van Dijk said.

"HVACR is an exceptional industry, we have a lot to celebrate and it is our sponsors that have allowed us to do this."

Van Dijk went on to thank the main sponsor of the event, Bitzer Australia, and supporting sponsors - ABB and the Australian Refrigeration Association (ARA).

Providing an overview of the Barangaroo development was Asar Younes, team leader for mechanical, design, building at Lend Lease Australia.

Younes talked about the features that made Barangaroo one of the world’s first climate positive precincts of its size in the world including a solar farm generating over 1000MWh of energy each year.

Younes said the 22-hectare Barangaroo site will officially open six-hectares of parkland next week - August 22, 2015.

"It is the return of a key part of the western Sydney Harbour foreshore for public use in more than 100 years," he said.

Norman Disney Young director, Tim Spies, outlined a range of innovations at the site as well as many of the challenges.

"In between prototypes, mockups and plenty of design challenges, we have been able to deliver some great achievements," he said.

Spies provided a unique insight into the broad range of services to be addressed as part of the mechnical services contract.

With the focus on energy efficiency, NDY was able to create the biggest LED solution in the southern hemisphere, as well as a unique chilled beam solution created specifically for Barangaroo.

Veolia Group energy solutions director, Ross Seabrook, explained the benefits of its district wide chiller plant at the site which is cooled by sea water from Sydney Harbour, reducing electrical demand and greenhouse gas emissions.

After the speakers came the award presentations with Australian manufacturers dominating two of the key categories.

Seeley International founder, Frank Seeley, won the main award for HVACR Leader of Year against two outstanding finalists - Scantec Refrigeration managing director, Stefan Jensen, and Sustainable Buiildings Research Centre director, Paul Cooper - who were both in attendance.

The winners of the other categories included Sustainability Leader - Dan Granger of the NSW Department of Environment and Heritage; Emerging Energy Savings Leader of the Year - BuildingIQ CTO, Peter Dickinson; Innovator of the Year - AIRA managing director, Ian Rich and; Rising Star Award - Bueno Systems managing director, Leon Wurfel with CA Group engineer, Jonathan Hare winning Highly Commended.

Full details of today's event will be published in the October edition of CCN Magazine and online at

comments powered by Disqus