Climate Control News today announced Finalists across all seven categories in the 2018 HVACR Leadership Awards.

The standard of nominations were particularly high which is why unfinished applications were removed in the first round of judging.

Moreover, there was a record number of entries for the Woman of the Year in HVACR Award. This led to a total of seven finalists for this category, which is unusually high.

Winners will be announced at CCN Live 2018, which is sponsored by Refrigerant Reclaim Australia (RRA), and will be held at the Arts Centre, Melbourne on October 11, 2018. Early bird tickets are still available at

Following is a full list of the Finalists for each category. More detailed profiles on the Finalists will be published in coming weeks in the lead up to the winners presentation next month.

Rising Star Award (Male)

There are three Finalists for the Male Rising Star Award including:

Conserve It product support manager, Pravesh Badjoonauth
ENGIE Services Australia technician, Mitchell Beattie
Heatcraft branch manager, Luke Kasapolli.

Rising Star Award (Female)

Both Male and Female Rising Star Awards are sponsored by ABB. Finalists are:

BUENO general manager, Lina Le
Heatcraft acting branch leader, Jamie Le Grange
Airmaster Australia learning & development manager, Carly Stats

Energy Savings & Sustainability Award

The Finalists for this award include:

DAC Refrigeration managing director, Hayden Conti
STIEBEL ELTRON Australia renewable technologies manager, Oliver Joss
ENGIE Services Australia energy efficiency engineer, David Odd.

 The HVACR Leader of the Year Award

Sponsored by Innotech, this award has four Finalists including:

AJ Baker & Sons managing director, Mike Baker
Pioneer Air Conditioning founder, George Haydock
Powerchill director, Daniel Maclean
O'Connors mechanical services managing director, Andrew O'Connor

Innovator of the Year Award

There are three Finalists for this award which is sponsored by Toshiba Air Conditioning, they are:

TopWise founder/director, Paul Hawkins
Regulator Australia CEO, Neil Kenny
Western Sydney University senior lecturer, Vahid Vakiloroaya.

Fridgie of the Year Award

Totaline has sponsored the very first Fridgie of the Year Award which has three Finalists including:

Cooling Company director, Matthew Scudamore
D&T Refrigeration technician, Jamie Sigley
Jindabyne Refrigeration manager, Andrew Solomon

Contractor of the Year Award

This year the Contractor of the Year Award was one of the most competitive categories in the awards program. Sponsored by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air Conditioning Australia, there are five Finalists. They are:

Coolphase Pty Ltd general manager, Ricky Gatti
O'Connor Services managing director, Andrew O'Connor
Simmonds Heating & Cooling director, Mark Simmonds
Sutton Refrigeration director, Robert Sutton
Mission Air Technologies director, Alex Wenz

Woman of the Year in HVACR Award

Once again Daikin Australia has sponsored this award which has a total of seven Finalists including:

South Coast Refrigeration & Air Conditioning managing director, Vonnette Cook
Rheem Thermal Systems group production manager, Kelly Hargreaves
Fujitsu General Australia national manager (People&Culture), Sarah Gatehouse
O'Connors QHSE coordinator, Tammy Giles
ARMA CEO, Kim Limburg
Heatcraft account manager, Katrina Smith
BSA national WHSEQ manager, Jane Taylor


comments powered by Disqus